MMM ’13 Week 2 Round Up

me-made-may'13

I made it through Week Two!  This pic wasn’t used for anything, but my husband said my facial expression best captures my personality.  So I thought I’d share it with you, since it makes me laugh.  You’re welcome!  😀  I love doing jump shots–they’re fun to do and fun to see the outcome.

thegreencateye MMM '13

Anyhow, moving on.  Last week, I was proud of myself for wearing me-mades every day including pajamas on days we didn’t go anywhere (even though my commitment was only for 3 days a week).  This week, I skipped two days during the week, but still kept my commitment.  It has been uplifting to put a little more effort into myself, since I’m getting my pic taken every day.  Hilariously, I’ve forgotten what my hair looks like down!  Here’s my week in pictures:

Day 6 Monday–The “Don’t Be Lazy!” Shirt (that I should probably re-name ‘cuz I’m tired of typing out that uber-long title!)

MMM '13 D6 wm

I really am so glad I made this shirt.  It is one of the most comfortable shirts ever (me-made or not!).  I’m stoked to have a sloper/block for future makes, and I plan to start using it again soon!

Day 7 Tuesday–(old) Banskia Top

thegreencateye.com

This is my sleeveless Banksia Top I made last year.  It’s made from super-soft quilting cotton with light coral vintage buttons that my sister-in-law gave me (that her grandmother gave to her, but my sis-in-law doesn’t sew or have any use for them–she actually gave me a whole freezer Ziploc bag of buttons!).  I finished the arm holes, neckline, hem, and side seams with light pink bias tape.  And the placket doesn’t actually pucker because of bad sewing…I neglected to straighten it out before my sister took the picture.  The jeans and cardigan are hand-me-downs from my sister.  My husband thinks this top looks a bit “old lady”, but it’s comfy and I like it!

Day 8 Wednesday–Wiksten Hack Tank

thegreencateye.com

I wore my new Wiksten Hack Tank to the local outlet mall with my sister.  I rarely go to a mall now, so it was truly fun seeing all the fashions I can easily construct on my own.  I don’t miss shopping at a mall!

Day 11 Saturday–Peacock Renfrew and Theme Friday!

Theme Friday in the MMM ’13 Flickr group was “Creative Space” and can be interpreted however you like.  Instead of showing you my messy kitchen, I chose this:

thegreencateye.com

Here are the full pics for more detail (and I really did wear the jeans and Renfew that day):

thegreencateye.com

thegreencateye.com

thegreencateye.com

thegreencateye.com

And here’s a detail shot of the peacock print on the Renfrew–I tried to mess with editing the coloration and such in a way that would make more contrast to actually capture those peacocks in a pic.  Still not great, but at least you might know what I’m talking about when I say there are peacocks on my shirt when it looks like it’s just white.

Peacocks 1 wm

So that’s week two!  I’m amazed at how quickly this month is flying.  And happy Mother’s Day to those fellow mamas out there!  Little Man was nice enough to let me sew for a really long time today without complaining once that he wanted me to play instead (I’m not scum–I played with him for a while before sewing)!  Tomorrow, you’ll get to see some of how he entertained himself during that time.  😉

Thanks for looking! 🙂

4 comments
  1. Love pictures like this, so fun and happy! Great job wearing your me-mades. I like the ‘old lady’ top, and it doesn’t look one bit ‘old-lady’ to me. 😉

    • I just realized my phone never published my reply–sorry! 😦 Anyhow, thanks! And I’m glad someone doesn’t think my “old lady” top looks “old lady”, because I love it. 🙂

  2. dandeliondrift said:

    I love your creative spaces picture at the end! That’s awesome. And i am thoroughly impressed with everyone’s me made may stuff. I’m going to have to jump in next year~!

    • Thank you! And you absolutely should jump in next year (or even for the rest of this year!)!! I wasn’t expecting it to be as much fun as it has. I’m really glad I decided to go for it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

