KCW Day 1 and (a little) 2

Mostly poor quality pics for you to see what I’ve been working on. Most was done after Little Man went to bed, so it was pretty dark in the kitchen where I was sewing. 🙂

Tyrone In Progress 1 WM

The beginnings of the Tyrone Shirt.  Cut from a shirt my brother-in-law gave me, using the Flashback Skinny Tee pattern.

Tyrone In Progress 2 WM

What was left.

Tyrone and Green Cut WM

I also cut the first test of the altered pattern to make a green muscle tee, which as you’ll see in a moment, still needs work…

Tyrone Just Antlers WM

My plan was to just draw only the antler outlines for a subtle nod to The Backyardigans character, Tyrone, who is an orange moose with yellow antlers.  Who could’ve guessed that drawing that shape on a Halloween-orange shirt woud make for some creepy looking eyes?!  So…I had to add more:

Tyrone Full Outline WM

I went to bed satisfied with this.  But, when I woke up this morning, it looked too much like I just drew this onto a shirt.  Which, um…yeah, I know, is exactly what I did…  So I had to give myself even more work on what was supposed to be a quick 30-minute shirt.

Tyrone Drying WM

Behold, Tyrone on his drying board.  I even added the color for his hair.  I’m still not fully satisfied, but it’s better than creepy eyes.

thegreencateye.com Tyrone Shirt

thegreencateye.com Tyrone Shirt

And finished.  I might give you a better close-up later. 🙂

Muscle Tee Flop WM

And as for the green muscle tee, I’m going to be working on that now that LM is asleep.  This pic doesn’t show it well, but the arm bands were not cut small enough, so they stick out like a futuristic uniform.  The neck also looks wonky here, but it’s only because of the way he’s sitting.  I’m thinking I’m just going to cut off the arm bands and hem the arm holes.  Hopefully it goes well, because I am not interested in yet another hang up!  And as for the weird hat thing–no, I didn’t pose him like that.  He’s pretending to be “The Mystery Lifeguard” from an episode of The Backyardigans (who would’ve guessed…), and Austin wears his hat low so the others don’t recognize him.  LM takes that as what you see above. Welcome to my world, people.  Welcome. to. my. world!  But he is wonderful and hilarious.  And refused to remove this shirt despite it’s flaws.

Thanks for looking!  Are any of you participating this week?  I was worried about regretting it at first, but I’m already finding a ginormous burst of motivation!  Now I have to get back to work while I have a few spare moments!  🙂

Leave a Reply

