Jack Frost Hoodie and Pants

I made this a few weeks ago, but wanted to share more about it here.

thegreencateye.com Jack Frost Hoodie and Pants

I typically try to stick to 100% cotton fibers (or at least natural) on Little Man.  I must admit this outfit is anything but natural fibers.  When I went to Joann to find some cotton interlock knit, I happened to spot this perfect-for-a-hoodie mostly-polyester knit fabric.  I believe it’s called ponte knit??  (Please note previous statement about fabrics I buy–I clearly am new to this realm of fabric!)  We’ve had a couple store-bought hooded shirts made of very similar fabric that have worked great on him in the past, so I immediately asked LM which color of this was his favorite. This purchase re-opened the door for the hoodie I thought I didn’t want to bother with.  It quickly became the first project I wanted to tackle for his spring wardobe!

UPDATE: I went back for some more of this fabric in purple–which you’ll be seeing soon!–and it’s actually 95% cotton and 5% spandex! I was very happy about this discovery and don’t know how I missed it before. And it’s pique knit. Mommy brain strikes again…

thegreencateye.com Jack Frost Hoodie

After seeing Rae’s hoodie tutorial, I realized adding a hood to a t-shirt pattern would be quite simple.  I hadn’t used her flashback skinny tee pattern yet (though you’ve seen plenty of it here by now!), and was stoked to finally put it to use.  I traced and measured around a hooded zip-up that fits him well to get the dimensions and shapes for the hood, cuffs, a waistband, and pouch pocket.  I wanted it to be similar to the style that we’ve loved on him in the past, and like all young kids, LM loves pockets!

Pouch Detail Jack Frost Hoodie

I used some green cotton interlock from Joann for the sleeves and waistband.

Side Seam Detail Jack Frost Hoodie

This is the only photo that shows the truest coloring of the shirt. Even though all the pics were taken at the same time.

I’ve never done stripes matching before, but I knew I wanted to at least try to get it matched up a little.  I did my best to remember the matching tips I’d read ages ago knowing that someday I would utilize what I had been wasting my time reading. I used a million pins, which was exhausting for me, since I try to avoid them for time saving sake.  I figured I’d either spend my time pinning first or ripping out the seam 76 times to redo it–I chose pinning and am so glad I did!

Hood Detail Jack Frost Hoodie

I did a french seam on the hood to hide the raw edges.  It was extremely tedious work but luckily paid off.  The side seams matched nearly perfectly with a few stripes being slightly off, but it wasn’t bad enough to be worth my time to fix.  It was no more flawed than any ready-to-wear shirt I would’ve paid for.  I thought the way I cut the sleeves might make them match the body, but I really had no idea if it was possible.  I now know that I just used the wrong point to match for cutting.  I also intentionally made the pouch pocket not match, so it wouldn’t blend in.  I can proudly say there was much happy dancing in my kitchen during the making of this shirt! 😀

Shoulder Detail Jack Frost Hoodie

When it was done, LM realized there was a hood, and was very excited to say, “Like Jack Frost?!”  After seeing Rise of the Guardians just days before, he loved the idea that he was like Jack Frost in that movie–he’s portrayed as a teenager-y kid who wears…you guessed it–a hoodie!  So now he calls it his Jack Frost Hoodie and is always happy to put it on.

Another project I was excited for from that shopping trip was this pair of Kid Pants I was finally testing using woven fabric.  At Hancock Fabric, I spotted some amazing turquoise linen-look rayon fabric on a clearance rack.  The price was still higher than I wanted to pay despite being on sale (as in $10 for one yard), and it was rayon, which I try to avoid after reading how they make it, so I left it there.  I know you’re wondering, “But Ashley, if you left it there, however did you manage to make the vibrant pants I see before my eyes??”  It just so happens that on the other side of the store in the remnants bin was one and half yards of it for…wait for it….$2.50!  These pants don’t even use a yard of fabric, so I still have some left over!  Can you say “bargain”?!

thegreencateye.com Turquoise Pants

They were only practice, but they are perfect on him.  After my 2 previous version in knit fabric, I just made the pattern 3/8″ larger on both sides of the leg seams and added 3/4″ to the top.  I also used the patch pockets pattern Dana offers for these pants.  These are more for just at home or visiting my sister for a play date, but I would be okay with taking him out in them if he wanted.  They’re super soft and comfy.

Front Pocket Detail Turquoise Pants

I linked the hoodie up at Alida Makes for her Calling All Kids series and for the Sew-vivor Emerald Challenge.  It’s not emerald, but the actual contestants said since they struggled to find any emerald (didn’t fabric stores get the Pantone memo?!), they were told any green would do.  I wasn’t randomly selected to win or featured in any way, but just participating was enough for me.

Thanks for looking!!  More coming soon!  🙂

2 comments
  1. julie said:

    did you use a pattern for this. I love this. i actually bought this same fabric at my joanns. I would to make somhething similiar for my little guy.
    thanks julie

    • Hi! I used Made By Rae’s Flashback Skinny Tee as the base. I traced the hood of another shirt that fits him well, and also measured for the pouch and the cuff and waistband width (1.5″ if you’re wondering). Rae’s “Little Bit of Color Hoodie” tutorial offers a few good tips for doing the hood (both are linked in the post if you want quick access). Because my fabric was stretchy, I made the neck width on the hood a tiny bit shorter than the neck hole of the shirt. I got the cleanest front by pinning the two front edges of the hood in the front center and also matching the back. I stretched the rest into place. Definitely sew across both ends of the front hem of the hood before you sew anywhere else though–it kept me from needing any overlap as I went around the hood and made the front as polished as I could manage. I hope this helps–feel free to ask if you need any more information! 🙂

Leave a Reply

