Sew In Tune: Gobble It Up

This post is now somewhat ancient in blogosphere time, but since I already shared the dorky pants, I figured I’d let you know about  the rest of it.  Behold what was my entry into the Sew In Tune sewalong:

thegreencateye.com Gobble It Up Outfit

I wanted to make Little Man an “It’s Raining, It’s Pouring”-inspired outfit (weirdly, he loooooves nursery rhymes, and it’s his fave), but I put it off for so long that I didn’t have time to go out and buy more supplies.  I was so on the fence about participating, since I’ve never participated in any of the amazing sewalongs online–I don’t think I’ve mentioned how paranoid I already am to be putting myself out here like this.  It stupidly really stresses me out…even though none of you even know me, and I could just delete it all away with the click of a button!  Back to the outfit…

thegreencateye.com squid shirt

Clearly this isn’t inspired by LM’s fave nursery rhyme.  On a whim the day before it had to be submitted, I realized we’ve been listening to Jim Arnosky sing “Gobble It Up” on repeat for the past three weeks!  Really no joke–I was waking up in the middle of the night with that song stuck in my head!  It’s actually a book themed around the food chain that comes with a CD that we got from the library.  I took one section of the book about a great whale diving to the bottom of the sea, and “pick a fight with biggest kid, and gobble you up a giant squid!”  It’s weird but catchy.

thegreencateye.com Squid Shirt Detail

The shirt was a thrift store find.  I used MADE’s free Basic Tee pattern.  It fits skinny LM a little big around his torso, but at least it fits!  The original owner snagged on something to create a small hole, but it worked out for us, because the shirt was in excellent condition.  I made a freezer paper stencil to make the squid (NOT EASY with ten friggin’ tentacles to cut around!!!), and quick and dirty painted and traced it with a fabric marker.  It’s not my best work, but I was in a mad dash to get pics taken and uploaded before the deadline.

Gobble it up lining detail 1

The pants I didn’t even take extra pics of because I’m rather embarrassed for anyone to see them in the first place, so you’ll have to take my word on them…I modified the Nowhere Man Pants pattern (I don’t want to link to them because my version is really that bad…) to have a skinnier leg and a knit waistband.  I cut up a pair of thrift store plus-size women’s shorts to create these.  They really fit okay, but the denim is just a little weird, and the waistline sits too low in the back.  I could probably alter the pattern and it would work great, but this version was a completely and totally embarrassing dud.  The lining fabric I wasted on them was some awesome whale flannel from Joann.

I hope you don’t judge me too harshly by this outfit…I can really do better. :/

Thanks for looking!  Hopefully you’ll still come back after seeing this. 😉

Leave a Reply

